top of page

Waldo This Week

Waldo This Week is a weekly communications from Kevin Jones - HS Principal.

CHS Staff- I would like to compliment you all for your professionalism and hard work on Friday. It is my belief, that we continue to work hard to benefit our students.

With our support ALL students can achieve at high levels and be successful in life.

I would like to report to our community about our recent PLC days for the Middle/High. As the high school principal, we continue to advocate that we (Center) can learn from each other. Each time we have had a PLC day, the BLT has been very intentional on creating a productive agenda that will improve instruction. Our Building Leadership Team (BLT) has created learning targets and essential questions that are geared toward our continual improvement. Our agenda’s are tight, aligned and structured to increase academic achievement. This past Friday, we finished our 10 chapter book study, and I appreciate the format Ms. Hayes used to increase knowledge. The book is called “Creating Cultures of Thinking”. We have had periodic leaders drive the book study, with intentional lessons that were created from Center staff members. The lesson was to increase “thinking” in our classes, and offer a variety of tools that teachers can use for instruction. We created effective ways to support our new teachers for improvement. We like to think, we are building a culture of effective learning and we love that our PLC (Professional Learning Communities) are working! Please feel free to offer feedback for improvement at our next PLC on January, 19th. Our shared leadership protocol is continual to learning and following our core beliefs.

I want to thank Lucinda, Anna, Ruthie and Luis for attending the diversity conference in Denver. I hear the conference was excellent, and we are hoping these professionals will help us continue our need to understand our varied differences and cultural experiences.

Our continual essential question- how do we build a culture of THINKING in every classroom and how do we know if this is happening?

Here is my schedule for the week-

Monday-

After Friday’s work on learning targets/objectives- I will looking at lesson plans, and offering feedback all morning. Teachers- please let me know if you have any questions about my feedback.

-our suggestions at a BLT/Admin is to use the DOK chart that was sent out on Friday.

I have two RTI meetings scheduled

I will be leaving for Alamosa mid-morning for a meeting at ASU

I re-scheduled another meeting in Alamosa that was cancelled last week.

I will not be returning to Center this afternoon.

Tuesday-

I will be looking at some policies that need to be updated.

I plan on being in many of your classes.

I will be traveling to Monte Vista to get pizza for a positive reward for students with perfect attendance.

I will be ordering Valley Classic awards for January.

I have an 1:30 RTI meeting

I will leaving to Antonito to watch my son’s participate in basketball

Wednesday-

HS ICAP day

I will be serving on the mid-year capstone panel.

All core teachers will be looking at SAT/PSAT data, for improvement.

Thursday –

I wish someone would step forward and be the NHS sponsor, if not I will take the duties. I plan on setting up a meeting for HS NHS, before Christmas.

I plan on visiting more classes.

Mid-morning I will be attending a workshop for PSAT/SAT in Alamosa. The following teachers will be attending as well. Rigsbee, Hays, Rounds and Ruggles

Friday/Saturday-

I will be admin for the Sierra Grande bb tournament.

Have a great week!

Kevin Jones

HS Principal/AD


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page